Monday, April 16, 2018

Review for Close Enough to Touch by Colleen Oakley





Can you miss something you never had?
Jubilee Jenkins is no ordinary librarian. With a rare allergy to human touch, any skin-to-skin contact could literally kill her. But after retreating into solitude for nearly ten years, Jubilee’s decided to brave the world again, despite the risks. Armed with a pair of gloves, long sleeves, and her trusty bicycle, she finally ventures out the front door—and into her future.

Eric Keegan has troubles of his own. With his daughter from a failed marriage no longer speaking to him, and his brilliant, if psychologically troubled, adopted son attempting telekinesis, Eric’s struggling to figure out how his life got so off course, and how to be the dad—and man—he wants so desperately to be. So when an encounter over the check-out desk at the local library entangles his life with that of a beautiful—albeit eccentric—woman, he finds himself wanting nothing more than to be near her.

A “heart-wrenching and humorous” (Publishers Weekly) love story for anyone who’s ever wanted something—or someone—just out of reach, Colleen Oakley’s Close Enough to Touch will delight fans of Jojo Moyes’s One Plus One and Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project.


Amazon link:





My 4 Star review

I will not lie...again I knew nothing about this book when I added it to my TBR list.

Then my husband bought it for me as a gift and sadly he bought it in December of last year.




Let me just start with, I should of read it the day I got it!

Close Enough to Touch warmed my heart!

It is heartbreaking and sweet all in the same breathe.

Jubliee is allergic to the human touch and as you are sitting there thinking is that even real?! I am not sure but Colleen Oakley will having you believe that it is real.

Eric and Ari are the other characters in this book and they need Jubliee just as much as she needs them.

There is so much more that I want to share but I can't because if I do, I will ruin it for you.

Please know that if and when you pick up this book you will not be able to put it down.

Enjoy


About the Author



Colleen Oakley’s debut novel Before I Go was a People Best New Book Pick, an Us Weekly “Must” Pick, a Publisher’s Lunch Buzz Book, a Library Journal Big Fiction Debut, and an Indie Next List Pick. Formerly the senior editor of Marie Claire and editor-in-chief of Women’s Health & Fitness, Colleen’s articles, essays, and interviews have been featured in The New York Times, Ladies’ Home Journal, Marie Claire, Women’s Health, Redbook, Parade, and Martha Stewart Weddings. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, four kids, and the world's biggest lapdog, Bailey.


Saturday, April 7, 2018

Review for The Ghost Writer by Alessandra Torre


From New York Times Bestseller Alessandra Torre...Four years ago, I lied. I stood in front of the police, my friends, and family, and made up a story, my best one yet. And all of them believed me.
I wasn't surprised. Telling stories is what made me famous. Fifteen bestsellers. Millions of fans. Fame and fortune.
Now, I have one last story to write. It'll be my best one yet, with a jaw-dropping twist that will leave them stunned and gasping for breath.
They say that sticks and stones will break your bones, but this story? It will be the one that kills me.


Amazon Link:



My 5 star review

I am at a complete loss right now! I never seen this coming, not at all.

Helena is a horrid bad work that I can't say but at the same time I have a soft spot for her. I judged her harshly and now I feel like a complete jerk for doing so.

The ending of this book will leave you with your mouth hanging wide open. Trust me I am still sitting here thinking to myself why would Helena do this to me.

I want here here and happy.

I want her living with Mark on his ranch and chasing bugs that light up.

I want her taking care of the baby calf.

I want her and Kate to become best friends.

I want her to not be angry and so sad all the time. Ugh!!!!!! Why me?

This is my first Alessandra Torre read and it will not be my last. You shattered my heart but you filled my soul. This is a five start read times twenty and should be a movie. You look me on one hell of a ride and I was hanging on for dear life not wanting this ride to end. I know that it all has to end sometime but you made me hurt so good with thing ending. I knew it was coming I just didn't know how it was going to come.

Simon is a monster and I am glad Helena was brave enough to do what needed to be done.

That is all. I am now going to crawl in my bed under the covers and cry for Helena, Bethany, and all of the other girls....


About the Author

Alessandra Torre is an award-winning New York Times bestselling author of fifteen novels. Torre has been featured in such publications as Elle and Elle UK, as well as guest blogged for the Huffington Post and RT Book Reviews. She is also the Bedroom Blogger for Cosmopolitan.com. In addition to writing, Alessandra is the creator of Alessandra Torre Ink, a website, community, and online school for aspiring authors.

Learn more about Alessandra on her website at www.alessandratorre.com, or you can find her on Twitter (@ReadAlessandra) or her Facebook fanpage.



Thursday, March 22, 2018

Release Blitz: Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan




“Satisfying and soul-gripping!”

-- Lucy Score, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author






LONG SHOT, a deeply emotional, thought-provoking standalone love story set in the exciting world of professional basketball, from Kennedy Ryan is LIVE! 





Synopsis



A FORBIDDEN LOVE SET IN THE EXPLOSIVE WORLD OF THE NBA...



Think you know what it's like being a baller's girl?

You don't.

My fairy tale is upside down.

A happily never after.

I kissed the prince and he turned into a fraud.

I was a fool, and his love - fool's gold.



Now there's a new player in the game, August West.

One of the NBA's brightest stars.

Fine. Forbidden.

He wants me. I want him.

But my past, my fraudulent prince, won't let me go.










“A raw, passionate, sexy, emotional rollercoaster."

 -- Ilsa Madden-Mills, Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author







Download today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!


Amazon Universal: http://mybook.to/LongShotKR





“A STOP WHAT YOU'RE DOING AND READ THIS NOW kind of book. Don't hold your breath, this story will steal it from you."

- J. Sterling, New York Times Bestselling Author



Add To Goodreads:






Enter the giveaway for a $100 Amazon GC Today!






Join the LONG SHOT March Madness Party for giveaways all month long!











Kennedy Ryan is a Southern girl gone Southern California. A Top 100 Amazon Bestseller, Kennedy writes romance about remarkable women who thrive even in tough times, the love they find, and the men who cherish them.



She is a wife to her lifetime lover and mother to an extraordinary son. She has always leveraged her journalism background to write for charity and non-profit organizations, but enjoys writing to raise Autism awareness most. A contributor for Modern Mom Magazine, Kennedy’s writings have appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, USA Today and many others. The founder and executive director of a foundation serving Atlanta families living with Autism, she has appeared on Headline News, Montel Williams, NPR and other media outlets as an advocate for families living with autism.



Connect with Kennedy



Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/681604768593989/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KennedyRyanAuthor





Follow on Book+Main:  bookandmainbites.com/kennedyryan

Subscribe to mailing list for monthly giveaways & exclusives: bit.ly/KRList

Sign up for Text Alerts: https://clk2.me/mgFv




Review for After The Fall by Kylie Ladd


“That’s the thing about falling.  It doesn’t go on indefinitely, and it rarely ends well . . . ”  
In her page-turning fiction debut, neuropsychologist Kylie Ladd delivers a searing portrait of two marriages united and betrayed by friendship.
 
“I had been married three years when I fell in love,” begins Kate, a firecracker of a woman who thought she’d found the yin to her yang in Cary, her sensible and adoring husband.  For their friend Luke—a charismatic copywriter who loves women and attention in equal measure, and preferably together—life has been more than sweet beside Cressida, the dutiful pediatric oncologist who stole his heart.  But when a whimsical flirtation between Kate and Luke turns into something far more dangerous, the foursome will be irrevocably intertwined by more than just their shared history. 
 
After the Fall follows the origin and fallout of the most passionate of affairs through the eyes of all four characters, unveiling the misunderstandings and unspoken needs that lie beneath our search for love and connection.  The narrative moves effortlessly between past and present, painting a nostalgic picture of the two marriages at their most idealistic—the exact moment when like turned to love—and at their most volatile.  Thanks to the boundless compassion with which Ladd draws her characters, one can’t help but root for them as they wrestle between newfound desire and remembrances of time past, all the while spinning toward an inevitable conclusion.
 
Steeped in psychological insight and raw emotion, After the Fall is an unsettling novel of the many ways we love and hurt each other.


Amazon Link:




My 5 Star Review


Wow! Wow! Wow!

That is the only word that I can form now, I think I need a minute.

I was and still am beyond pissed at Luke and Kate for everything that they have done. I mean Luke is a prick who thinks he is God's gift to women and has a gorgeous wife. While she is in the hospital trying to save children from cancer he is out playing golf or going to the pub after work.

Then there is Kate who openly flirts with anyone out in public, even if her husband is there. Ugh...and her husband Carey is as sweet as can be, how can she do that to him?!

I listened to the audio version of this book and I was randomly cursing these two characters and then I sat back and wondered how often this happens. How often do couples become friends and then cheat on their spouses with those very same friend?!

I will say that I was not sure how this book was going to be. What I did enjoy was that I heard from Luke, Kate, and both of their spouses.

The ending killed me because I was so sure that it would go a unique way, but overall this is an obsessive read. As in I was determined to finish this book and see which one of them would come clean, get caught, and or get divorced.

About the Author:

Kylie Ladd has written about parenting, the World Cup, meeting her husband on jury service, egg donation, the Edinburgh Festival, the prefrontal cortex and losing her religion, but all people ever ask her about are the dirty bits in her novels and if they're made up. Her first novel, After the Fall, was published in Australia, the US and Turkey, while her second, Last Summer, was highly commended in the 2011 Federation of Australian Writers Christina Stead Award for fiction. Kylie’s third novel, Into My Arms, has been selected as one of Get Reading’s Fifty Books You Can’t Put Down for 2013. She holds a PhD in neuropsychology, and lives in Melbourne, Australia, with her husband and two children.



Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Release Blitz: With This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas



With This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas
Series: This Man #4
Publication Date: March 20th, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance






Jesse Ward is back in the newest novel in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling This Man series!

Life is good for Jesse 'The Lord' Ward. Perfect, actually. He still has the charm, he's in great shape, and he still reduces his wife, Ava, to a pool of desire with a mere look. He's in full control, just how he likes it.

But Jesse's perfect world falls apart when a terrible accident lands Ava in hospital with a life-threatening head injury. Devastated and angry, he feels like his entire existence hangs in the balance. He cannot survive without this woman's love. So when she finally comes around, his shaking world begins to level out. But his nightmare doesn't end there. It's only just begun. Because his wife can't remember the last sixteen years of her life. That's all of him. All of their time together. He is a stranger to her.

Now Jesse must do whatever it takes to find her memories . . . and help her fall madly, passionately in love with him all over again.







About the Author:

Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR,  released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers.



Connect with Jodi:





Monday, February 26, 2018

Review Secret Lucidity by e.k. blair



RELEASE BLITZ
Title: Secret Lucidity
Author: E.K. Blair
Genre: Student/Teacher Forbidden Romance
Release Date: February 26, 2018
 

BLURB

This wasn’t supposed to happen.
But it did.
This wasn’t supposed to be my life.
But it was.

I was just a typical girl, living a typical life. Nothing was out of the ordinary until tragedy threw me into a turnstile I couldn’t see my way out of. That was, until him.

I never could’ve imagined my heart falling the way it did. Hard, fast, and with unbounding beauty.

The only problem?
He was off limits.
Forbidden.

But he became my everything, and I became his, so we risked it all. It was only a matter of time until I realized that our risk came with unimaginable consequences.

My name is Camellia Hale and his is David Andrews, and this is our love story.


GOODREADS LINK:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33539943-secret-lucidity


PURCHASE LINKS

US:
http://amzn.to/2AggEFi
UK: http://amzn.to/2k7MjCP
CA: http://amzn.to/2AgpVxa
AU: http://amzn.to/2nglL3y
B&N: http://bit.ly/2AkaPEU
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2AHy7aF
iBooks: http://apple.co/2Ao84Vm
Audible: http://adbl.co/2FdVqIz

My 5 Star Review
E.k. Blair does it for me people,  she freaking does it for me. Her writing style is perfection and the topics are simply not talked about enough. Read the book and you will know what I am talking about.

While reading this book I went through the motions big time. There is so much going on in the story and it is heartbreakingly beautiful. Ugh...I just want to ruin the book and tell you everything.

I know I sound crazy but it is true.

When horrible things happen we shut down and we may or may not let anyone in. And when we do...We can't help who it is and how we feel.

This story is about a student who falls in love with her teacher. Some may say OMG that is crazy and others will read this book and think...

These two individuals have gone to hell and back. So I will say nothing more about it but I will tell you that I loved every part of this book.

My heart broke for Cam and I wanted her happy. I needed her happy. Hell I wanted to jump in my kindle and make her happy.

Oh and I love David and I am not scared to say it. He brought a broken girl back to life. He helped her want to live even thought it came at a price.

Ugh...EK Blair you amaze me with every book you write. This book will forever be near and dear to my heart. I promise you that you will change someone's life with your words. But I am sure you have done that already.

This story just shows that Broken and lost people are worth it too.

 AUTHOR BIO

New York Times, USA Today, and International bestselling author, E.K. Blair, takes her readers on an emotional roller coaster with her books. Blair tends to drift towards love stories that are deeply layered with emotional angst. Give her a character and she will dig into their core to find what lies beneath.

Aside from writing, E.K. Blair finds pleasure in music, drinking her Starbucks in peace and spending time with her friends and family. She's a thinker, an artist, a wife, a mom, and everything in between.


AUTHOR LINKS

Website: 
http://www.ekblair.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EKBlairAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EK_Blair_Author
Instagram: https://instagram.com/authorekblair
BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/e-k-blair